Skip to main content

ERH 481 Senior Capstone: Find Articles

MLA International Bibliography

An international index (online) to scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage: 1926-to present. For help on search techniques and much more, go to http://proquest.libguides.com/mla

Be sure to take advantage of the "Advanced Search" features such as "Author as Subject" and "Author's Work."

Academic Search Complete

This multidisciplinary database includes many types of resources, i.e. scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.  There are lots of tools that can be applied to the search results, i.e. email, citation, export to RefWorks, etc.

  • Use "Choose Databases" to select additional databases that could relate to your search.  You may find more relevant results.
  • Refine search results by using the left-hand menu.  Limit by format, date, subject headings, etc.
  • Full-text is available in HTML, PDF, or both.
  •     button will help find articles that are accessible in another database, available in print at Preston Library, or requires an Interlibrary Loan request.

JSTOR & Project Muse

Find full-text journal articles in these databases. Keyword only searches.

Journal Locator

Search for journals that are available in full-text by using the Journal Locator under the category "Find Articles" on the library homepage.  Here is the URL:  http://vmi.worldcat.org/openurlresolver/search

Type the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper in the search box as shown below:

Additional Literature databases

Find more critical essays, full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, information on authors, their works, literary movements and genres.  Use the "Advanced Search" feature whenever possible.  Besides keyword searching there are limits such as "Name of Work" and "Person-By or About." For example, to search for articles written about A Midsummer Night's Dream, use the "Named Work" search feature in Literature Criticism Online.