Skip to main content

CE 321: Find Articles

Engineering Village

This is the premier database to all engineering literature world-wide.  There are abstracts from Compendex (the electronic version of Engineering Index), with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.

Civil Engineering Database

The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s. The database is constantly expanded and enriched.

Full-text articles of the 35 ASCE journals are available from 1983 to the current issue.

Environmental Science Databases

Find scholarly articles on environmental engineering topics by using the following databases:

JSTOR

There are 292 journals in the Environmental Science collection of JSTOR.

Searching tips:

  • Start by using the advanced search
  • Limit your search by article type and language
  • Do Not Search the entire database
  • Select collections of journals by subject

What is a journal?

A journal is a publication issued periodically that reports original research. Manuscripts submitted by researchers are scrutinized by an editor and a referee before they are accepted for publication.  This is known as the peer review process. The articles are very detailed and include detailed experimental procedures.  It is aimed at a very specialized audience of researchers in the field.

ASCE Journals

Journal cover

The Journal of Environmental Engineering presents broad interdisciplinary information on the practice and status of research in environmental engineering science, systems engineering, and sanitation. Papers focus on design, development of engineering methods, management, governmental policies, and societal impacts of wastewater collection and treatment; the fate and transport of contaminants on watersheds, in surface waters, in groundwater, in soil, and in the atmosphere; environmental biology, microbiology, chemistry, fluid mechanics, and physical processes that control natural concentrations and dispersion of wastes in air, water, and soil; nonpoint-source pollution on watersheds, in streams, in groundwater, in lakes, and in estuaries and coastal areas; treatment, management, and control of hazardous wastes; control and monitoring of air pollution and acid deposition; airshed management; and design and management of solid waste facilities.

September 2014 Cover Graphic   July 2014 Cover Graphic  February 2014 Cover Graphic

Civil Engineering is published by ASCE every month.  The current issue is located in the current periodical reading room on 500 level of Preston LIbrary.

Journal Locator

Find academic journals online in order to access full-text articles.  Type the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper.  Either you will be instructed to access the publication, or you will not find it listed.  Sometimes Preston Library will have a paper copy of the journal and you will search the library catalog in order to obtain the call number.