Skip to main content

MA 330W History of Mathematics: Find Articles

Academic Search Complete

This multidisciplinary database includes many types of resources, i.e. scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.  There are lots of tools that can be applied to the search results, i.e. email, citation, export to RefWorks, etc.

  • Use "Choose Databases" to select additional databases that could relate to your search.  You may find more relevant results.
  • Refine search results by using the left-hand menu.  Limit by format, date, subject headings, etc.
  • Full-text is available in HTML, PDF, or both.
  •     button will help find articles that are accessible in another database, available in print at Preston Library, or requires an Interlibrary Loan request.

Additional Databases

Find full-text journal articles in these databases. Plan to conduct keyword searches.

What is a journal?

Journals consist of articles written by scholars and researchers, reporting in detail on their original research, and "peer reviewed" by other experts before they’re published.  Most are published by professional or academic organizations, for specialists in that field.  Journals are published regularly, like magazines, but most magazine articles provide more basic information, and are written for the average person.

How to identify a peer-reviewed journal?

When you have the journal-in-hand, you can turn to the inside cover page or title page to find information about the journal.  You should find a statement about the peer-review process.

When you access the journal online, this information should be easily located on the website.

For additional help in finding out if the journal is peer-reviewed, use the database, Ulrich's Periodicals Directory:

Journals & Magazines

American Journal of Mathematics has been in publication since 1878, and you can find full-text articles from these early volumes via JSTOR.  Current issues are accessible via Project Muse.

Mathematics Magazine  published by the Mathematical Association of American (MAA).  It is a general magazine intended to introduce advanced mathematical concepts and proofs.  It uses the history of mathematics, applied mathematics and visuals to explain difficult concepts.  Current year in the Periodical Reading Room, 500 level.  Earlier issues are accessible via JSTOR.

SIAM Review  published by the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).  This research journal "provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and information among mathematicians, engineers and scientists."  Earlier issues are accessible via JSTOR.

Full-text Articles

Access to full-text articles will be indicated by html and PDF icons within each bibliographic citation when you use the library databases.

When you see the Full Text Finder button -    - by the bibliographic citation, you may find the full-text article from another library database, or you will find instructions to request an Interlibrary Loan request. 

If you have any problem accessing or finding full-text articles, see a Reference Librarian.

VMI Reference Librarian