Skip to main content

HI 374W Modern Latin America: Find Articles

Historical Abstracts

An international index (online) to scholarly materials on world history.

Additional Databases

Find more critical essays and full-text articles from scholarly journals.   Use the "Advanced Search" feature whenever possible.  Besides keyword searching there are limits that help refine the search.

Academic Search Complete

This multidisciplinary database includes many types of resources, i.e. scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.  There are lots of tools that can be applied to the search results, i.e. email, citation, export to RefWorks, etc.

  • Use "Choose Databases" to select additional databases that could relate to your search.  You may find more relevant results.
  • Refine search results by using the left-hand menu.  Limit by format, date, subject headings, etc.
  • Full-text is available in HTML, PDF, or both.
  •     button will help find articles that are accessible in another database, available in print at Preston Library, or requires an Interlibrary Loan request.

Journals

JSTOR & Project Muse

Find full-text journal articles in these databases. Use the advanced search feature.  Whenever possible select collections of materials such as "History," "Latin American Studies" and "Political Science" in JSTOR.  Also, limit or narrow the search to journal articles.

Full-text Articles

Access to full-text articles will be indicated by html and PDF icons within each bibliographic citation when you use the library databases.

When you see the Full Text Finder button -    - by the bibliographic citation, click on it in order to find out if the article is available from another library database.

If you have any problem accessing full-text articles, see a Reference Librarian.

Interlibrary Loan

When an article from a journal, magazine or newspaper is not accessible online or available in print, you can request an Interlibrary Loan.  To open an ILL article request form click on this URL: https://illiad.vmi.edu/

You must use your VMI username and password.

Usually it takes 48 hours to receive the full-text article, but it could take up to 2 weeks.

If you have any questions, please see a Reference Librarian.

VMI Reference Librarian

ILL Contact Information

ILL Office Hours:

Mon-Fri  0800-1630

Telephone:

(540) 464-7570

Logon:  Interlibrary Loan