Skip to main content

Mechanical Engineering: Find Articles

This guide is designed as a starting point for doing engineering research using Preston Library's resources.

What is a journal article?

Journals consist of articles written by scholars and researchers, reporting in detail on their original research, and "peer reviewed" by other experts before they’re published.  Most are published by professional or academic organizations, for specialists in that field.  Journals are published regularly, like magazines, but most magazine articles provide more basic information, and are written for the average person.

Finding Full-Text

The Full Text Finder button provides direct links from bibliographic citations to the full-text of the article (if available).

If the full-text article is not available, there should be an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) "button" or option so you can make a request for it.  More information about ILL is located on the ILL page of this library guide.

Engineering Village

This is the premier database to all engineering literature world-wide.  There are abstracts from Compendex (the electronic version of Engineering Index), with links to full-text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.

ME Databases

There are several databases for mechanical engineering research.

Journals & Magazines

The Applied Mechanics Reviews is the international review journal that serves as a premier venue for dissemination of material across all sub-disciplines of applied mechanics and engineering science, including fluid and solid mechanics, heat transfer, dynamics and vibration, and applications.

Engineering News-Record (ENR) provides the news, analysis, commentary and data that construction industry professionals need to do their jobs more effectively.   ENR connects diverse sectors of the industry with coverage that everyone needs about issues such as business management, design, construction methods, technology, safety, law, legislation, environment and labor.

Current issues are located in the Periodical Reading Room.

The Military Engineer (TME) is a bi-monthly magazine covering issues of importance to the architectural, engineering, construction and environmental community.