Skip to main content

HI 388 Modern Spain: Civil War and Colonial Conflict: Interlibrary Loan

This guide will help you find resources for your research.

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is the service of borrowing library materials from other libraries that are not owned by Preston Library.

Items that can be borrowed include books, journal articles, reports, dissertations, government documents, DVDs and materials in microform.

Before placing your ILL request please make sure we do not own the book or have access to the journal article (paper or online).

  • Search for books:

Preston Library Catalog

  • Search for journals:

Journal Locator

Interlibrary Loan Contact Information

ILL Office Hours:

Mon-Fri  0800-1630

Telephone:

(540) 464-7570

Interlibrary Loan

How to use Interlibrary Loan

How to make a book request

When you need a book that Preston Library does not own, request it by completing an ILL request form.  Here is the URL:  https://illiad.vmi.edu/

Use your VMI username and password.  Select from the ILL menu the book request form, which can be used for CDs, DVDs, and other types of materials.

How to make an article request

When an article from a journal, magazine or newspaper is not accessible online or available in print at Preston Library, you can request an ILL.  To initiate an article request click on: https://illiad.vmi.edu/

Again you must use your VMI username and password.

Requesting from the databases

You may also request articles and books that you find while searching the library catalog or library databases. When you see Full Text Finder in the bibliographic citation or detailed bibliographic record,  you must click on the button/icon to access the full-text article in another database, or to initiate an ILL request.  The ILL form will be filled in automatically although you should review the bibliographic information such as pagination.

If you have any questions about the citation, please see a Reference Librarian.

FAQ

Is there a fee?     No

Is there a limit to how many ILLs can be placed?     No

How long does it take to get a book?     It can take from 2 business days up to 2 weeks - depending on where it's coming from (it will come through the mail or UPS).  The loan period is also determined by the lending library.  The item is usually received within 48 hours, but it could take up to two weeks.

How long does it take to get a journal article?     Usually it takes 48 hours to receive the full-text article, but it could take up to 2 weeks.

How will you know when the ILL arrives?     You will be notified via email when the book arrives.  It will be held at the circulation desk for you to pick up.  The "due" or return date will be on the book strap.  The full-text article will be sent to you via email usually in PDF.

Do you have a question about your ILL?  Ask a Reference Librarian or the Interlibrary Loan Manager.