Skip to main content

International Studies and Political Science: IS 401W International Studies Capstone

Ask Us!

LTC Elizabeth Kocevar-Weidinger's picture
LTC Elizabeth Kocevar-Weidinger
Contact:
540-464-7873

Welcome to IS 401W International Studies Seminar

Research Requirements!

  • How long should your paper be?
    • Your final paper is to run between 18-20 pages
  • What citation style should you use?
    • You are required to use Chicago Style
  • How many outside resources should you use?
    • Remember, an old-school rule of thumb is that academic papers should have approximately 1.5 citations per page. That would be a minimum of 18-20 sources and a max of 36 - 40. However, your paper may merit a close examination of a few major tomes, and you may have 5-10 sources, cited repeatedly.
  • What types of sources should you use?
    • Scholarly journal articles, reputable news sources, data to justify your argument
  • When is your paper due?
    • Your paper is due the last day of class

Scholarly Journal Articles and Magazines

ADVICE: 

Use Preston Library's journal databases to avoid paywalls in regular Google or Google Scholar searches.

Your best journal databases to search are a combination of: Academic Search Complete, America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, Military & Government Collection, Political Science Complete, Public Administrations Abstracts, and SocINDEX.

You can search these all at once. From the Library's homepage, click on Research and Course Guides > International Studies and Political Science > Databases. On the databases page, click on Academic Search Complete > click on the Choose Databases options (it's on top of the first search box.

 

Try different search terms!

Type the word, or, behind every search term to see if there are synonyms.Example: A search on  income inequality finds 100 results. Try income inequality or and many of our databases will add: income distribution or income gap for 200 results.