Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Undergraduate Research: Library Research

Undergraduate Research @ VMI - find information about programs, funding and library services

Find Books

Use the library's catalog to find books, journal articles, CDs, DVDs, Blu-Rays, and other resources at Preston Library, local (WLU) and world-wide libraries.  Here is the URL to the Advanced Search page:  http://vmi.worldcat.org/advancedsearch

Reference Resources

Interlibrary Loan Contact Information

ILL Office Hours:

Mon-Fri  0800-1630

Telephone:

(540) 464-7570

Logon:  Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

When an article from a journal, magazine or newspaper is not accessible online or available in print, you can request an Interlibrary Loan.  To open an ILL article request form click on this URL: https://illiad.vmi.edu/

You must use your VMI username and password.

Usually it takes 48 hours to receive the full-text article, but it could take up to 2 weeks.

If you have any questions, please see a Reference Librarian, or email referencedesk@vmi.edu .

Find Articles

You have over 200 databases at your fingertips.  There are databases for all the disciplines taught at VMI.  You can search for articles in scholarly journal articles, popular magazines, national and international newspapers.  If you need help identifying the database for your research, consult with Col. Janet Holly, Reference Librarian.

Full-text Articles

Access to full-text articles will be indicated by html and PDF icons within each bibliographic citation when you use the library databases.

When you see    by the bibliographic citation, you may find the full-text article from another library database, or you will be prompted to request an Interlibrary Loan.

If you have any problem accessing full-text articles, see a Reference Librarian.

Research & Course Guides

There are research guides for all disciplines taught at VMI. You will find "how to" tips for research.  Here is the URL: https://libguides.vmi.edu/researchguides

When you need more help, "ask a librarian." 

When you want to schedule a consultation with a librarian, click on "Meet With Us."

Research Assistance

Need help with your research?  Ask a Librarian! 

Contact:

Maj. Ashley Carroll, Research & Instruction Librarian

Col. Janet Holly, Research & Instruction Librarian

LTC Elizabeth Kocevar-Weidinger, Head of Research & Instruction Services

Email:  referencedesk@vmi.edu

Telephone:  540-464-7129

To schedule a consultation with a Librarian, click on "Meet With Us"

The Writing Center

Professional and peer writing consultants work with cadets in one-on-one conferences on every aspect of the writing process, from planning a paper to polishing the final draft.

Contact Information:

Maj. Steven E. Knepper
Interium Writing Center Coordinator and Assistant Professor of English
Ph:  (540) 464-7045

The Writing Center
Virginia Military Institute
215 Carroll Hall
Lexington, Virginia 24450

Contact Writing Center