Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books are useful for background information and for getting an overview of your topic. While journal articles will have the latest research and developments, they are often focused on a very narrow aspect of a topic. So start your project by looking for books on your topic. Get an overview and learn about the terminology used to describe your topic. Once you have the "big picture" you can then use the engineering databases to find journal articles on your topic.
Call Number: TA 155.B738 2010
Essays deal with the subjects of urban sprawl, airport infrastructure planning, and, of course, bridges. After reading this collection, you will know bridges from more angles than a through truss.
Building the World by
Call Number: T 56.I44 2006 (2 vol.)
Provides information on over 40 of the most important engineering projects in World History, showing how central these projects are to the history of civilization. This encyclopedia covers Roman Aqueducts; Washington, DC; Eiffel Tower; The Channel Tunnel; and more. It includes a detailed history of the planning and construction of each project.
VMI Online Library Catalog
Find books about civil engineering by using Preston Library's catalog. The search box is below:
Tips for searching are:
- Subject Heading
- Limit by format, author, date, and more
You can also browse the civil engineering section on the 400 level [TA], but there are other aspects of civil engineering located on the 600 level [GB-KF]. Library of Congress call numbers with subject headings are as follows:
|Call number range
||LC Subject Heading
|GB 1001 - GB 1005
|HD 9715 - HD 9718
|HE 370 - HE 380
||Prevention of Accidents
|KF 390 .E54
||Contracts. Construction Industry
||Air Pollution - Laws and Legislation
||Laws - Atomic Power Radiation
||Laws - Atomic Waste Disposal
||Radioactive Substances. Special Aspects
||Ions and Ionization
|QE 602 - QE 606
|RA 565 - RA 598
||Sanitation and Sanitary Control
|RA 1231 .R2
||Radioactive Substances - Toxicology
|S 591 - S593
||Soils Classification - Analysis
|T 57.6 - T 57.95
||Operations Research - Systems Analysis
|TC 7 - TC 1645
|TE 7 - TE 450
||Highway Engineering - Roads and Pavements
||Railroad Engineering and Operation
|TH 425 - TH 435
||Building - Contracts and Specifications
|TH 1094 - TH 1095
||Earth Movements and Buildings
|TL 725 - TL 758
CE Reference Books
Materials Handbook by
Call Number: Ref. TA 404.8.C37 (2 vol.)
Publication Date: 2018
New 3rd edition - provides quick and easy access to the physical and chemical properties of many classes of materials (ferrous metals and their alloys, nonferrous metals, semiconductors and superconductors, magnetic materials, and more).
Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers by
Call Number: Ref. TA 151.S8 2004
Publication Date: 2004
The 5th edition of the classic reference covering all important principles and techniques needed by practicing civil engineers.
Coverage: Latest edition
Encyclopedia entries from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Also includes biographies of well-known scientific figures, downloadable images, videos and animations illustrating key topics.