Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Reference Databases
The online McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology provides fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
3 million copyright-free images from Dorling Kindersley Images, Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, Oxford Scientific, and other leading names.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together over 100 fully searchable reference works. Frequently updated, all disciplines will find this resource useful.
VMI Library Catalog
Find books about mechanical engineering by using the search box below:
Tips for searching are:
- Subject Heading
- Limit by format, author, date, and more
You can also browse the shelves for mechanical engineering books on the 400 level [TJ]. Call number ranges for mechanical engineering include:
- TJ - Mechanical engineering and machinery
- TJ163.13-163.25 - Power resources
- TJ163.26-163.5 - Energy conservation
- TJ170-179 - Mechanics applied to machinery. Dynamics
- TJ181-210 - Mechanical movements
- TJ210.2-211.47 - Mechanical devices and figures. Robots (General)
- TJ212-225 - Control engineering systems. Automatic machinery (General)
- TJ227-240 - Machine design and drawing
- TJ241-254.7 - Machine construction (General)
- TJ255-265 - Heat engines
- TJ266-267.5 - Turbines. Turbomachines (General)
- TJ268-740 - Steam engineering
- TJ751-805 - Miscellaneous motors and engines, including gas, gasoline, diesel engines
- TJ807-830 - Renewable energy sources
- TJ836-927 - Hydraulic machinery
- TJ940-940.5 - Vacuum technology
- TJ950-1030 - Pneumatic machinery
ME Reference Books
Design Engineer's Handbook by
Publication Date: 2012-05-08
This book conveys the author's insights from his decades of experience in fields ranging from machine tools to aerospace. This handbook is specifically aimed at the student design engineer who requires a handy reference handbook to use in practice.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition by
Call Number: Ref. TJ151 .S82 2018
Publication Date: 2018
This 12th edition offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering. It provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. You get, accurate data and calculations along with clear explanations of current principles, important codes, standards, and practices. All-new sections including Applied Mechanics, Engineering Ethics, Digital Control Systems, Sensor and Actuators, Vehicle Electrification and Hybridization, and Nondestructive Testing.
VMI Design Team Projects
ME students can review these design studies by finding the location of the bound volumes from the library record at http://vmi.worldcat.org/oclc/759519754.
Due to the library renovation you will find the entire collection of ME design studies located in the overflow serials in the stacks on the 5th floor.
ME Handbooks & Manuals
ASHRAE Handbook, Ref. TH 7011.A12 Consists of alternately issued volumes with subtitles: Refrigeration; Application; Systems & Equipment; and Fundamentals.
Mechanical Cost Data, Ref. TH 435.M435 R.S. Means publishes this handbook annually; the current edition is located in reference (Learning Commons).
Materials Handbook by
Call Number: Ref. TA 404.8.C37 (2 vol.)
Publication Date: 2018
New 3rd edition - provides quick and easy access to the physical and chemical properties of many classes of materials (ferrous metals and their alloys, nonferrous metals, semiconductors and superconductors, magnetic materials, and more).
Engineers access Thomasnet.com to find manufacturers, supplies, source products, details and images of engineering materials. Access to product catalogs is also available @ https://www.thomasnet.com