Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ME 444 Mechanical Engineering Design: Find Articles

This course guide provides information on a variety of library materials in print or online.

Engineering Village

This is the premier database to all engineering literature world-wide.  There are abstracts from Compendex (the electronic version of Engineering Index), with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.

VMI Library Catalog

You can find peer-reviewed articles by searching Preston Library's catalog.  The search box is below:

For a more complicated search click on Advanced Search, or click on this URL:  http://vmi.worldcat.org/advancedsearch

Tips for searching are:

  • Keyword
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Limit by format, author, date, and more

ASME Journals

Each ASME journal title publishes the highest quality peer-reviewed literature in their respective field of mechanical engineering. The professionally curated content that comprises the material available through the journals on the ASME Digital Collection includes the history of mechanical engineering research as well as the cutting-edge discoveries being made today.

      

  • Applied Mechanics Review is the international review journal that serves as a premier venue for dissemination of material across all sub-disciplines of applied mechanics and engineering science, including fluid and solid mechanics, heat transfer, dynamics and vibration, and applications.
  • Journal of Applied Mechanics serves as a vehicle for the communication of original research results of permanent interest in all branches of mechanics.
  • Journal of Mechanical Design serves the broad design community as the venue for scholarly, archival research in all aspects of the design activity with emphasis on design synthesis.

You will find all of the ASME journals in print on the 300 level of Preston Library. Current issues are accessible via the ASME Digital Collection located in the Databases A to Z list.

Full-text Articles

Access to full-text articles will be indicated by html and PDF icons within each bibliographic citation when you use the library databases.

When you see by the bibliographic citation, click on it.  Next you will either see the link to the full-text article, or you will see the message below:

Click on "Request this item through interlibrary loan."  Use your VMI username and password.

If you have problems accessing full-text articles or requesting an interlibrary loan, see a Research and Instruction Librarian.

ASME Digital Collection

The ASME Digital Collection, previously known as The ASME Digital Library, is ASME’s repository of current and archival literature featuring:

  • ASME's Transaction Journals from 1960 to the present.
  • ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.
  • ASME Press eBooks selected from 1993 to the present.

Additional Databases