Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Chicago Manual of Style This reference work provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media. This 16th edition has been revised to reflect how publishing professionals work in the digital age; it provides new information and guidelines for electronic workflow and processes.
Call Number: Ref. Z 253 .U69 2010
Chicago Manual of Style
Electronic version of the Chicago Manual of Style with a convenient quick guide. Citations may be done one of two ways: (1) notes and bibliography and (2) author-date. If you are unsure about which system to use, ask your faculty member for guidance.
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Call Number: Ref. LB 2369.M52 2016
Publication Date: 2016
VMI Writing Center
The Writing Center offers online and in-person services during the fall 2020 semester.
Mon. - Thurs.: 0800 - 1600, and 1930 - 2230
Fri: 0800 - 1100
Sun.: 1500 - 2200
Mon. - Wed.: 0800 - 1600
Online consultations take place in real-time using your computer's camera and microphone. In-person consultations take place in 215 Carroll Hall. Schedule your appointment here. Remember to attach a draft of your paper.
Lt.. Col. Steven E. Knepper
Interim Writing Center Coordinator