Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find articles, definitions and facts in reference resources, i.e. encyclopedia, dictionaries, handbooks, and more.
A general science database. Includes articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia and Yearbooks of Science and Technology, biographies of well-known scientists, multimedia & images, science news, and more.
Unit Conversion Calculator
An online conversion calculator from the Institute of Chemistry und Biochemie at the Freie Universität Berlin.
Other Reference Databases
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Coverage: varies by collection
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. 21 encyclopedias are accessible and subject areas include: business, environment, history, literature, science, and social science.
Oxford Reference Online
Find the 6th edition of the Oxford Dictionary of Physics and more.
Find images to support your research by using the database created by Encyclopedia Britannica:
3 million copyright-free images from Dorling Kindersley Images, Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, Oxford Scientific, and other leading names.
VMI Library Catalog
Find books about physics by using the search box below:
For a complicated search, use Advanced Search @ http://vmi.worldcat.org/advancedsearch .
Tips for searching are:
- Subject Heading
- Limit by format, author, date, and more
Normally, you would be able to browse the shelves in the Library of Congress area of QC. Due to the library renovation, these books are in storage. If you should identify a book in storage that you would like to checkout, then you must request it as an Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
||Weights and Measures
||Atomic Physics (including relativity, quantum theory)
||Solid State Physics
||Heat (including thermodynamics)
||Radiation Physics (General)
||Electricity and Magnetism
||Nuclear and Partical Physics
||Geophysics (Cosmic physics)
||Meteorology, Climatology (including the earth's atmosphere)
Physics Reference Books
A Dictionary of Physics
Call Number: eBook
Contains over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. Provides in-depth analysis of key topics such as crystal defects, magnetic resonance imaging, the solar system, low-temperature physics, nanophysics, and quantum entanglement.
Physics Handbooks & Misc.
An Introduction to Astronomy and Astrophysics by
Call Number: QB43.3 .J35 2015
This text provides undergraduates information on how to interpret the night sky, and critical understanding of the stars and other heavenly bodies.
Call Number: QC 24.5.K56 2015
"Highlights unusual aspects of physics and gives a new twist to some fundamental concepts. "- back cover
Seven Brief Lessons on Physics by
Call Number: QC 24.5.R68313 2016
"These seven short, simple lessons guide us through the scientific revolution that shook physics in the twentieth century and still continues to shake us today. Theoretical physicist Carlo Rovelli, a founder of the loop quantum gravity theory, explains Einstein's theory of general relativity, quantum mechanics, black holes, the complex architecture of the universe, elementary particles, gravity, and the nature of the mind."