Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A magazine is a collection of articles and images about diverse topics of popular interest and current events. Usually these articles are brief (3-4 pages), written by journalists, lack bibliographies, and are geared toward the general public. Magazines may cover "serious" material, but to find consistently scholarly information you should use journals. See more about magaines @ http://library.ccsu.edu/TILT/nf/module1/magazines.htm
NEW YORKER MAGAZINE, 1925. - Cover of the first issue of 'The New Yorker' magazine, 21 February 1925.
. Fine Art. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest
. Web. 18 Feb 2016.
Databases contain bibliographic citations for articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers which can be retrieved through searching. You may find abstracts (brief summaries) of the articles and often the full-text or entire content of articles as they originally appeared in print. Use a database when you want to find articles on your topic in magazines, journals or newspapers. You can certainly browse for ideas for research topics by using a general or specific database.
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1887 - present
Scholarly, magazine and newspaper articles for most subject areas from over 5,000+ publications. Also includes book chapters, Associated Press videos, encyclopedias, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Access World News
Coverage: 1972 - present
News articles from 8,200+ U.S. and international sources. Each newspaper or wire service provides coverage of local and regional news.
Coverage: Typically, 4 years behind current date.
Articles from over 2,600 scholarly journals and 62,000 ebooks in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
New York Times (1980 - current date)
Coverage: 1980 - present
All issues of the New York Times, in full text.
SciTech Premium Collection Coverage: 1946 - current
Combined search of 25+ databases covering aerospace, agricultural, atmospheric, aquatic, biological, earth, engineering, environmental, materials, and technology subjects accessing 13,000+ scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.Combined search of 25+ databases covering aerospace, agricultural, atmospheric, aquatic, biological, earth, engineering, environmental, materials, and technology subjects.
A journal is a collection of articles usually written by scholars in an academic or professional field. An editorial board reviews articles to decide whether they should be accepted. Articles in journals can cover very specific topics or narrow fields of research. Since journals are published on a regular or periodic basis they are grouped in the category called "periodicals." Electronic journals, called e-journals, are published on the Web by some scholarly organizations and are made available to you from your library.
Use journals when you:
- conduct scholarly research
- want to find out what has been studied on your topic
- search for bibliographies that point to other relevant research
Find additional information about journals @ http://library.ccsu.edu/TILT/nf/module1/journal.htm