Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Zotero.org website provides screencasts covering most of the tasks you are likely to encounter in the process of using Zotero for research.
If you are just getting started, begin with the Zotero Walktrhough tutorial and the Quick Bibliographic Demonstration before viewing the task-oriented videos.
The entire Zotero Screencast Tutorial Bank
This is the list of screencast tutorials provided by zotero.org
Zotero Walkthrough Tour
This tour introduces the Zotero software and demonstrates many of the tasks associated with the use of Zotero.
Quick Bibliographic Demonstration
This short video demonstrates basic bibliographic work using Zotero
Getting Stuff into Zotero: The Basics
This video introduces the basic process by which you will get items into your Zotero Library
Getting Stuff into Zotero: Retrieving PDF Metadata
If you already have PDFs for sources you would like to use, Zotero can often retrieve the metadata for these sources automatically. This means that you will not need to manually type in the author, date of publication, article title, journal title, journal volume and issue number, page numbers, URL, or DOI.
Getting Stuff into Zotero: Creating Items from Webpages
You may sometimes use web sources in your research. Zotero can automatically grab the metadata from many web sources, but you will need to be especially vigilant about checking this metadata, as many websites provide incorrect or incorrectly formatted metadata to Zotero.
Getting Stuff into Zotero: Manually Creating Items
Zotero can be used to manage and index print, audio, video, material culture, and other artifacts which are not indexed by Zotero-compatible databases, catalogs, or search tools. In these cases, you will need to manually create item entries in your Zotero library.
Managing Your Library: Collections
Collections are folders you can use to hierarchically organize your items. This can be especially helpful when your items are for different classes, research projects, papers, or chapters.
Managing Your Library: Tags
Tags enable you to quickly locate sources and to associate similar sources together for future reference. One common use of tags is to mark sources which have been recently ingested into your Zotero library. Since it is best to proofread the metadata Zotero automatically retrieves from the web, tagging new sources until you get a chance to do so is a good idea. Tags also facilitate the creation of nonhierarchical organization schemes for your library.
Managing Your Library: Tag Selector Box
The tag selector box facilitates the efficient use of tags to locate related sources in your library.
Finding Items: Sorting
When you are first getting started, finding items in your Zotero library is easy. But as your library grows in size, you will need strategies and utilities for quickly locating your sources. Sorting your sources is a good way to start.
Finding Items: Basic Search
The basic search makes finding sources even in large Zotero Libraries easy.
Finding Items: Advanced Search
The advanced search enables filtering and boolean searching to quickly locate sources in large or complicated Zotero libraries.
There are two kinds of notes in Zotero: standalone notes and child notes, which are notes associated with a specific item. Standalone notes can be used to describe the contents of a collection, facilitate collaboration with group members, remind yourself of a research task or process that you need to begin or which is partially complete, or synthesize multiple sources. Child notes are a great way to store outlines, annotations, a precis of a source, a collection of useful quotations from the source, or specific references from a source you plan on locating. You can associate several child notes with an item.
The timeline function enables you to quickly visualize when sources were added to your Zotero library.
Microsoft Word Integration
One of the great features of Zotero is that it integrates seamlessly with some of the most popular word processors. This screencast demonstrates Microsoft Word integration, but the processes show are also applicable to LibreOffice Writer and Apache OpenOffice Writer.
Zotero and Google Products
Integration with Google Products varies depending on the product. This screencast provides an overview of currently supported Google Products.
The Mendeley.org website provides screencasts covering most of the tasks you are likely to encounter in the process of using Mendeley for research. Mendeley's YouTube presence is at MedeleyResearch.
If you are just getting started with Mendeley consider viewing the Walkthrough tutorial before viewing the task-oriented videos. The entire Mendeley Tutorial Bank provides several tutorials by Mendeley.org.
The EasyBib.com website automatically cites works and creates the bibliography formatting for MLA, APA and Chicago/ Turabian citation styles. A very popular citation and research management platform, EasyBib supports over 50 million students worldwide.
If you are just getting started with EasyBib consider viewing "Intro to EasyBib".
Several task-oriented videos: