Provides ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, and tables of contents for more than 300,000 periodicals, covering more than 900 subject areas, including academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.
Why use magazine, newspaper or scholarly journal articles?
Articles provide information on very specific, narrow topics. The Library purchases article databases so you may access articles for your topic – for free. Researchers use them when they need:
Magazines and Newspapers: Brief coverage of contemporary events written to all levels of readers.
Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Journals: Reports of research or scholarship on specific topics written by scholars to other scholars
Coverage: 1887 - present
Scholarly, magazine and newspaper articles for most subject areas from over 5,000+ publications. Also includes book chapters, Associated Press videos, encyclopedias, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Coverage: 1760 - 1900
2,500+ poems by 54 African-American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries, including Phillis Wheatley and Paul Laurence Dunbar. The poetry covers a wide range of topics, and a variety of poetic styles and types including elegies, odes, ditties, hymns, and sonnets.
Full text of 4,469 works by 1,350 key English poets from the Anglo-Saxon period to the end of the nineteenth century. This Chadwyck-Healey database is hosted by the University of Virginia.
Scholarly materials such as journal articles, research reports, dissertations and theses, technical reports, patents, and more (and more may not be scholarly by VMI standards).
Note: To get VMI's full-text articles,
1. Go to Google Scholar's homepage, click on the menu icon in the upper left and select "Settings,"
2. When you are on the Scholar Settings page, click on the "Library links" in the left menu. Type Virginia Military Institute into the search box and check the box next to Virginia Military Institute and WorldCat - LibrarySearch to help you locate many items in the library's collection.
3. Save your settings.
Coverage: 1975 - present
Articles from 2,100+ journals, books and other published humanities sources, Includes articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Coverage: varies by collection
Full-text literary criticism of the following series: Classical & Medieval; Contemporary; Drama; 1400 to 1800; Nineteenth-Century; Poetry; Shakespearean; Short Story; and Twentieth-Century.
Coverage: 8th century - present
350,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources on English poetry, prose, and drama. This database includes an ever-growing library of full-text journals and author biographies.
Coverage: varies by time period
Selective full-text from "Contemporary Authors," "Dictionary of Literary Biography," and other criticism setts covering more than 160,000 literary figures from all time periods and all literary genres.
Coverage: 1926 - present
Indexing from over 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Coverage: 1963-present.Indexes articles, books, chapters of books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and working papers on topics relating to literature, modern languages, folklore, and linguistics.