Research Guides: PS 202: Intro to Research Methods, Maj. Stuart: Find Scholarly Articles

What is empirical research?

4 components of empirical research:

1. Introduction: sometimes called "literature review" -- what is currently known about the topic

2. Methodology: sometimes called "research design" -- how to recreate the study

3. Results: sometimes called "findings" -- what was learned through the study

4. Discussion: sometimes called "conclusion" or "implications" -- why the study is important

Peer Reviewed Articles - What it means?

You will hear so much about finding peer reviewed articles.

Watch this short video (created by our friends at NC State Libraries) about what a peer reviewed article is.

Psychology Databases

PsycArticles - APA This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1597–present, with comprehensive coverage from the 1880s Articles from 2,500+ scholarly journals and a selection of research reports, conference abstracts and presentations, newsletters, reports, magazines, brochure/fact sheets, oral history, standards/guidelines, and monographs in the psychology field.
PsycInfo - APA This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1887 - present
Scholarly articles from 2,300+ journals and book chapters and dissertations. Access international literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1930 - present
Articles from 600+ scholarly journals. Topics include behavioral characteristics, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods and strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Varies
338 videos designed to improve the clinical skills of mental health professionals. Psychotherapy.net videos feature Yalom, Linehan, Kernberg and other experts in session with real clients, and step-by-step explanations of their interventions.
PsycTests - APA This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1900s-present
65,000 records for actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. Includes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Researches may limit searches to test type, age group, population group, validity/reliability, instrument type, fees, etc. Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files. Select measurements available in more than 40 languages.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1887 - present
Scholarly, magazine and newspaper articles for most subject areas from over 19,000+ publications. Also includes book chapters, Associated Press videos, encyclopedias, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Academic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete.
Dissertations & Theses (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1743 - present
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses in the world, including full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1966 - present
Scholarly/peer-reviewed, magazine, and newspaper articles from more than 750,000 publications, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books on all aspects of education from infancy through adult learning.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies - present
Abstracts only. See MEDLINE for full-text.
Articles from 5,200+ biomedical journals and selected monographs of congresses and symposia. Provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as allied health, biological and physical sciences, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1930 - present
Articles from 500+ scholarly journals and 400+ magazines as well as books, dissertations and reports. Topics include therapeutic recreation, exercise science and fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health and safety, physical education and therapy, and sports sciences