Skip to main content

Economics and Business: Course Guide: EC409 Maj. Murray

LTC K-W

LTC Elizabeth Kocevar-Weidinger's picture
LTC Elizabeth Kocevar-Weidinger
Contact:
540-464-7873

Your Assignment

Guidance from Maj. Murray:

Policies and topics of these can include (but are not limited to):
Ø  Minimum Wage
Ø  Labor Productivity and Technology
Ø  The Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)
Ø  Immigration Policy and Labor Markets
Ø  Black-White Wage Gap
Ø  Male-Female Wage Gap
Ø  Unions and Collective Bargaining
Ø  Education and Wages
Ø  Income Inequality
 
You may also pick a topic that is not on this list.  You should pick a topic that interests you and that you would enjoy learning more about throughout the semester.
 

Assignment Details:
Paper length: ~ 10 pages (requirement is 8-12)
Sources: 3-5 news articles to generate a topic and 8-10 scholarly works (journal articles, government or NGO reports)
Citation Style: APA
Due: Final Paper is due on May 10th

Additional Details: Use any primary news source to generate a topic (WSJ, NYT, WaPost, AP, Reuters, etc). Stay away from cable news sources that often blur the line between news and opinion. Use journal articles and government/NGO reports to dive into the issues, providing a short literature review, and then deliver your opinions on possible solutions to improve the issue or policy based on what you've researched.

Research Advice from LTC K-W

Meet with me for research and/or citation assistance. Use the Meet with Me button on the left-hand side of this page.‚Äč

Articles: 

  1. Combine databases
    1. Go to the Find Articles tab on the left-hand side of this page.
    2. Select EconLit with Full-Text
      1. Click on Choose Databases right above the search box.
      2. Choose Business Search Complete, Academic Search Complete, etc. to search multiple databases.
      3. Borrow the articles you need from other libraries, they take about 24 hours to get here via email.
        1. You'll know if we don't own it if there is no PDF full-text icon. 
        2. Click on the full-text finder icon, and follow the link to interlibrary-loan.
      4. How current do your articles need to be?
      5.  Use the Publication Year option on the left side of your results.

News

  1. Go to the Find Articles tab on the left-hand side of this page. 
    1. The NYT is one database.
    2. Use Factiva database for the WSJ and hundreds of newspapers including the Washington Post and Virginia newspapers.
    3. Use Access World News database for news from other countries, and major Virginia newspapers.

APA Citation

  1. Lastly, use the APA Citation tab on the left-hand side of this page for guidance on how and when to cite information, whether using direct quotations or paraphrasing information and citation format for your References page