Find Books - HNL380WX / ERH321WX: Shakespeare - Power & Politics - Research Guides at Virginia Military Institute

Find books written by and about William Shakespeare by using Preston Library's library catalog. You can also find books that analyze and criticize the works of Shakespeare.

Tips for searching are:

Keyword
Subject Heading
Limit by format, author, date, and more

You can also browse the Shakespeare section [PR 2750 - PR 3112] of the 550 level of the Library for additional material.

The books below was "discovered" by using the LC subject heading: Shakespeare, William, -- 1564-1616 -- In mass media.

Mapping Shakespeare's World by Peter Whitfield
Call Number: PR 3014.W55 2015
ISBN: 9781851242573
"The author shows that...many of Shakespeare's locations were carefully chosen for their ability to convey subtle meanings an Elizabethan audience would have picked up on and understood. Through the use of paintings, drawings, contemporary maps and geographical texts, Whitfield suggests answers to such questions as where Illyria was located, why The Merry Wives of Windsor could only have taken place in Windsor, and how two utterly different comedies -- The Comedy of Errors and Pericles, Prince of Tyre -- both came to take place in ancient Ephesus." - Catalog Record
Shakespeare and Renaissance Politics by Andrew Hadfield (Editor)
Call Number: PR3017 .H27 2004 (On Reserve)
ISBN: 9781903436172
These are the LC subject headings that identify this books: Shakespeare, William, -- 1564-1616 -- Political and social views; Great Britain -- Politics and government -- 1558-1603; Great Britain -- Politics and government -- 1603-1625.
Shakespeare and the Digital World by Christie Carson (Editor); Peter Kirwan (Editor)
Call Number: PR2976 .S33718 2014 (On Reserve)
ISBN: 9781107064362
"Due to the unique cultural capital of his works, Shakespeare has long been the test subject for new methods and digital advances in arts scholarship. Shakespeare sits at the forefront of the digital humanities - in archiving, teaching, performance and editing - impacting on scholars, theatres and professional organisations alike..." - book jacket

Reference Books

The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of Shakespeare by Bruce R. Smith (Editor) "Richly illustrated with more than three hundred images, this book brings the world, life, and afterlife of Shakespeare to readers, from nonacademic Shakespeare fans and students to theater professionals and Shakespeare scholars." - back cover
Call Number: Ref. PR 2976.C295 2016 (2 vol.)
ISBN: 9780521113946
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare by Michael Dobson (Editor); Stanley Wells (Editor) "A truly fun, accessible, and contextually rich companion to the vast world and work of Shakespeare. Spanning the historical and contemporary, and the literary and dramatic, this authoritative and illustrative 3,000-entry compendium is well constructed, solidly cross-referenced, and above all, delightful and interesting reading."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2002.
Call Number: Ref. PR 2892.O94 2001
ISBN: 9780198117353
The Oxford Dictionary of Original Shakespearean Pronunciation by David Crystal This dictionary is the first comprehensive description of Shakespearean original pronunication (OP), enabling practitioners to deal with any queries about the pronunciation of individual words. It includes all the words in the First Folio, transcribed using IPA, and the accompanying website hosts sound files as a further aid to pronunciation.
Call Number: Ref. PR 2892.C778 2016
ISBN: 9780199668427
Shakespeare's Words by David Crystal Take a fresh look at the vocabulary of Shakespeare's poems and plays and compiled a glossary of nearly 14,000 words and meanings.
Call Number: Ref. PR 2892.C78 2002
ISBN: 9780141007373
Publication Date: 2002-01-01

WLU Library Catalog

Find books and other library materials at WLU by searching @ http://library.wlu.edu/

You can go and check out books from Leyburn Library.

Reference Databases

Find articles, definitions and facts by searching these reference databases:

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Coverage: varies by collection
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. 21 encyclopedias are accessible and subject areas include: business, environment, history, literature, science, and social science.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together over 100 fully searchable reference works. Frequently updated, all disciplines will find this resource useful.

Synopsis of Plays

Critical Survey of Drama by Carl E. Rollyson (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PN 1625.C68 (8 vol.)
ISBN: 1587651025
Publication Date: 2003
Shakespeare's entry provides descriptions of his plays from the point-of-view of a dramatist.
Masterplots by Frank N. Magill (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PN 44.M33 (12 vol.)
ISBN: 0893560847
Publication Date: 1996
"Entries ae arranged alphabetically by title, with the type of work, author, type and time of plot, locale, first publication date, and principal characters listed. A plot synopsis is followed by a critical essay and a brief bibliography. Each entry is three to four pages in length." - Catalog Record
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama by McGraw-Hill Staff; Daniel Gerould (Preface by)
Call Number: Ref. PN 1625.M3 ( 5 vol.)
Publication Date: 1984
See the Shakespeare entry for information on the plays.