Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When you write a research paper, you need to document where you found your information.
There are several major (and many more minor) styles used for formatting citation information. Use the resources in this guide to help you properly format your paper according to the style specified by your professor.
This page covers general guides covering multiple styles. Additional pages focus on specific citiation styles:
APA: American Psychological Association Style
MLA: Modern Language Association Style
AMA: American Medical Association Style
CSE: Council of Science Editors
Other Styles & Topics
This is the assigned text for VMI's ERH courses and contains basic citation information for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. We've got a copy on reserve.
You can also find some online guides that may help you with citations in various styles.
Research and Citation Resources (Purdue OWL)
Helpful overview of the processes of Conducting Research, and Using Research in writing your paper. Also provides links to guides describing how to use APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian styles. From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).
Covers APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian styles. Provides explanations on in-text citations and assembling your bibliography. From Duke University libraries.
Citation and Style Guides
This is a helpful collection of links describing how to cite print and electronic sources using APA, MLA, Turabian, Chicago, and other styles. From Concordia University in Montreal.
Writing Guides, including Annotated Bibliographies
These resources go beyond citations to cover writing process in general--and annotated bibliographies in particular.
Learn how to create an annotated bibliography. Note the links to additional "Example" and "Samples" pages in the left-hand menu. From the OWL at Purdue University.
VMI Writing Center
Want some help with your writing?
Visit the writing center to meet with a consultant who can help with many steps of your writing process.