Skip to main content

Archives - Resources Guide - VMI in World War I: WW I Resources Home

Primary sources in the VMI Archives relating to the World War I era.

World War I Resources in the VMI Archives

Use the blue tabs to navigate this guide

This is a guide to resources available in the VMI Archives that document VMI alumni participation in World War I, as well as life at the Institute during the period 1914-1918. It includes links to detailed finding aids and to full text when available. Some of these collections are available online; others must be used in the Archives reading room.

The Archives are located on the 4th floor of Preston Library, one level down from the Main Desk. The department is open from 0800 to 1630, Monday - Friday.  You don't need an appointment.

 Email questions to COL Jacob, and/or consult with her before starting your research.

 

American Expeditionary Forces identification card from the Thomas Perkinson Papers

Key Resource: VMI in the World War by Joseph Anderson, 1920

VMI in the World War

 

Compiled by VMI's "official historiographer" in 1920, this is the best published source for information about VMI alumni participation in World War I. It is available online and in print in the main library collection.

Search the Archives Catalog

Detailed archival guides, also known as finding aids, are located in the VMI Archives Catalog.  

The catalog includes links to online access when available.

Head, Archives & Records Management

Diane Jacob
Contact:
COL Jacob
VMI Archives
4th Floor
Preston Library
540-464-7566
Website / Blog Page