Skip to main content

Biology: Find Articles

This guide is designed as a starting point for finding information about biology.

Biological Sciences

Find articles in scholarly journals by searching the following databases:

How to search BioOne

BioOne

General Databases

Full-text Databases

These databases provide full-text access to journals in science and technogy:

Journals

Journals consist of articles written by scholars and researchers, reporting in detail on their original research, and "peer reviewed" by other experts before they’re published.  Most are published by professional or academic organizations, for specialists in that field.

Journals are published regularly, like magazines, but most magazine articles provide more basic information, and are written for the average person. Below are examples of peer-reviewed journals and magazines:

Full-text Articles

Access to full-text articles will be indicated by html and PDF icons within each bibliographic citation when you use the library databases.

When you see by the bibliographic citation, you may "Get the full-text" from another library database.  If you find that the full-text article is not available, then you will see the statement, "Request through interlibrary loan."  Click on it and login to the Interlibrary Loan service.

If you have problems accessing full-text articles or requesting an interlibrary loan, see a Reference Librarian.

Interlibrary Loan

When an article from a journal, magazine or newspaper is not accessible online or available in print, you can request an Interlibrary Loan.  To open an ILL article request form click on this URL: https://illiad.vmi.edu/

You must use your VMI username and password.

Usually it takes 48 hours to receive the full-text article, but it could take up to 2 weeks.

If you have any questions, please see a Reference Librarian.

VMI Reference Librarian

ILL Contact Information

ILL Office Hours:

Mon-Fri  0800-1630

Telephone:

(540) 464-7570

Logon:  Interlibrary Loan