Skip to main content

Chemistry: Find Articles

This library guide will help you find information related to chemistry.

What is a journal?

A journal is a publication issued periodically that reports original research. Manuscripts submitted by researchers are scrutinized by an editor and a referee before they are accepted for publication.  This is known as the peer review process. The articles are very detailed and include detailed experimental procedures.  It is aimed at a very specialized audience of researchers in the field.

SciFinder Scholar

A web-based version of the index, Chemical Abstracts.

SciFinder Scholar is the premiere chemistry bibliographic and reference research tool.  Subject coverage includes chemistry, biomedical sciences, engineering, materials science, agricultural science and more. Substance coverage includes alloys, coordination compounds, minerals, mixtures, polymers, salts and sequences. Search by topic, author, company, substance name, as well as by chemical structure, substructure or reaction.

This database also provides access to the MEDLINE, 1958 to present,  for citation linking and journal table of contents.

Please contact Col. Janet Holly, Reference Librarian, for registration information.

Full-Text Databases

These databases provide full-text access to journals in science and technogy including chemistry:

Chemistry Journals

You have access to these chemistry journals.

Analytical Chemistry    Chemical Reviews    Inorganic Chemistry    The Journal of Physical Chemistry B

Full-text Articles

Access to full-text articles will be indicated by html and PDF icons within each bibliographic citation when you use the library databases.

When you see by the bibliographic citation, you may "Get the full-text" from another library database.  If you find that the full-text article is not available, then you will see the statement, "Request through interlibrary loan."  Click on it and login to the Interlibrary Loan service.

If you have problems accessing full-text articles or requesting an interlibrary loan, see a Reference Librarian.

Interlibrary Loan

When an article from a journal, magazine or newspaper is not accessible online or available in print, you can request an Interlibrary Loan.  To open an ILL article request form click on this URL: https://illiad.vmi.edu/

You must use your VMI username and password.

Usually it takes 48 hours to receive the full-text article, but it could take up to 2 weeks.

If you have any questions, please see a Reference Librarian.

VMI Reference Librarian

Journal Locator

Find the Journal Locator on the library's home page under Quick Links.

Type the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper in the search box.  The library may own it, either in print or online.

ILL Contact Information

ILL Office Hours:

Mon-Fri  0800-1630

Telephone:

(540) 464-7570

Logon:  Interlibrary Loan