Skip to main content

VMI Archives Resources

Welcome

Welcome to the VMI Archives Guide! 

Use the tabs on the left to explore digital and physical collections of primary source records that are available for you to use in your research.

 

Need to visit the Archives for an assignment? Feel free to e-mail me or schedule an appointment using the buttons under my profile picture to the left.

Get started on your research right away using the archives resources below:

VMI Archives Online Catalog - Search the entire VMI Archives for physical and digital records including manuscript collections (letters, diaries and other personal papers) of alumni and faculty, historical records of VMI, and other primary source research collections.

VMI Archives Digital Collections - Browse or search all of the digital records in the archives. Collections include:

Annual Reports - Search reports issued by the Superintendent and other officials that provide detailed accounts of the activities at VMI for each academic year.

Letters, Diaries, and Manuscripts - Letters, diaries, and other personal papers that cover topics such as: VMI history and cadet life, papers of alumni and faculty, the Civil War, military history, and local/regional history.

Meeting Minutes - VMI Board of Visitors - Search the full text of meeting minutes of the Board of Visitors, the governing body of the Virginia Military Institute, that span the years 1839-1864, 1919-1940, and 1991-2019.

Military Oral History - Search full text transcripts of interviews with veterans of World War II, Korea, Vietnam, the Persian Gulf, Iraq, and Afghanistan.

Newspaper - The Cadet - Search the full text of 2,995 issues of VMI's cadet newspaper that was published continuously from 1907 through 2016, except for a 3-year gap (June 1943 - August 1946) during and immediately following World War II.

Photographs - Search thousands of images-- ranging from mid-19th century daguerreotypes through today's digital photography-- of VMI cadets, alumni, faculty, and staff, cadet life, annual and special events, and VMI history.