Find Materials

There are three primary ways to search the Virginia Military Institute (VMI) Archives, including:

• Archives Catalog
  • This catalog allows you to explore all of our collections to locate unique materials.
• Digital collections
  • This search tool allows you to explore digitized collections, such as images, letters, and maps.
• Historical Rosters Database (1839-1947)
  • This database allows you to search for VMI alumni by name, class year, and keyword.

Having trouble searching the Archives? Contact us via phone at 540-464-7516, email at archives@vmi.edu, or schedule a one-on-one research appointment.

View Materials

Our collections do not circulate and must be viewed in the Archive's reading room. Other guidelines include the following:

• If you are planning to visit, please contact us via phone at 540-464-7516 or email at archives@vmi.edu a few days in advance to confirm our hours and to give us information about your research topic so that we can have material ready for you.
• Items may not be checked out or removed from the reading room.
• You may not bring food or drinks into the reading room.
• Archival material is fragile. Please handle our collections with care.
• Do not remove items from a folder or disturb the original order of the documents.
• If you take handwritten notes please use pencil, not pen.
• Laptops are welcome and wireless is available throughout Preston Library.

Teach with the Archives

We welcome and encourage teaching with our collections and can provide engaging hands-on experiences for cadets. We offer:

• Customized classroom sessions
• Course and subject guides tailored to assignments
• One-on-one research appointments with cadets

For more information or to schedule a session at the Archives, please email archives@vmi.edu.