Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACS - With more than 161,000 members, the American Chemical Society (ACS) is the world’s largest scientific society and one of the world’s leading sources of authoritative scientific information. A nonprofit organization, chartered by Congress, ACS is at the forefront of the evolving worldwide chemical enterprise and the premier professional home for chemists, chemical engineers and related professions around the globe.
Royal Society of Chemistry - With over 49,000 members and a knowledge business that spans the globe, this is the UK's professional body for chemical scientists, supporting and representing our members and bringing together chemical scientists from all over the world. A not-for-profit organisation with a heritage that spans 170 years, the organization has an ambitious international vision for the future, which includes working to shape the future of the chemical sciences – for the benefit of science and humanity.
Recommended Chemistry Websites
CAS - Chemistry Education Page
Includes "Molecule of the Week" and the ACS Calendar of events.
CAS - Registry
Most authoritative collection of disclosed chemical substance information, containing more than 119 million organic and inorganic substances and 66 million sequences.
CAS Source Index (CASSI)
Use this complimentary tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.
This online dictionary contains over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies.
Search and share chemistry - ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 35 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
NIST Chemistry Workbook
This online text provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology).
This database, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. It also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.