Research Guides: Art History: Find Articles

Your Librarian

Contact:

540-464-7250

Subjects:Art History and Visual Culture, Biology, English/Rhetoric/Humanistic Studies - ERH, Exercise Science / Physical Education, Literary Studies, Modern Languages and Cultures (Arabic, Chinese, French and Spanish), Philosophy, Psychology

More Info

What does peer-review mean?
1. The review of commercial, professional, or academic efficiency, competence, etc., by others in the same occupation
-Oxford English Dictionary

Quick tip: use Ulrich's Periodicals Database to verify whether or not a journal or periodical source is peer-reviewed.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Coverage: varies
Provides ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, and tables of contents for more than 300,000 periodicals, covering more than 900 subject areas, including academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.

Why use magazine, newspaper or scholarly journal articles?

Articles provide information on very specific, narrow topics. The Library purchases article databases so you may access articles for your topic – for free. Researchers use them when they need:

Magazines and Newspapers: Brief coverage of contemporary events written to all levels of readers.
Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Journals: Reports of research or scholarship on specific topics written by scholars to other scholars

Art History: Find Articles

Your Librarian

More Info

Why use magazine, newspaper or scholarly journal articles?

Suggested Resources