Skip to Main Content
 

Computer and Information Sciences

Why Statistics

If you find yourself asking questions such as "how many?"  you are  looking for a statistic.  

A statistic is a numerical fact.   They are often found in tables or reported as numbers or percentages in an article. Data is gathered as a result of a study in order to help understand something and  to gain deeper knowledge.  Data may be composed of numbers (quantitative) or observations (qualitative). - From Binghamton University Libraries

Statistics Databases

  • Factiva
    Coverage: Varies
    Articles from Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications including 1,000 U.S. and foreign newspapers, 6,500 news magazines and trade journals, 270 newswires - Dow Jones, Reuters, AP, Asia Pulse, transcripts of leading media news broadcasts - BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, NPR, company profiles and reports, and European Union official documents.
  • Global Road Warrior
    Coverage: Varies
    Comprehensive, encyclopedic business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference information on 175 countries. Provides country facts; climate; society & culture; business culture; demographics; money and banking; travel essentials; points of interest; health & medicine; transportation; communications; technical/internet; electrical; embassies/consulates; the businesswoman; essential terms; maps; photo gallery; and country flags. Information for each country comes from a variety of sources, including the publisher of Global Road Warrior, World Trade Press, government data and reports, and selected publications.
  • Market Atlas
    Data on over 10,000 US companies, 20,000 non-US companies, 8,000 inactive companies and over 1 million privately held companies. Includes financial information, annual reports, executive biographies, and historical information (e.g. mergers, acquisitions, bankruptcy and reorganization).
  • Mergent Intellect
    Extensive information about private companies, both active and inactive, as well as a job search database with information from more than 20 million employers.
  • Mergent Online
    Data on over 10,000 US companies, 20,000 non-US companies, 8,000 inactive companies and over 1 million privately held companies. Includes financial information, annual reports, executive biographies, and historical information (e.g. mergers, acquisitions, bankruptcy and reorganization).
  • PsycTests - APA Best Bet
    Coverage: 1900s-present
    65,000 records for actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. Includes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Researches may limit searches to test type, age group, population group, validity/reliability, instrument type, fees, etc. Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files. Select measurements available in more than 40 languages.
  • S&P (Standard & Poor) Capital IQ Best Bet
    Coverage: varies
    Financial data, analytics and research with information on companies, markets and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis.Create custom sets of companies or professionals based on multiple search criteria, including financial and qualitative items. Offers current state of industry of your interest, including M&A activity in selected industry. Access to Capital IQ for VMI ECBU faculty and cadets, and Cadet Investment and/or Entrepreneurship Clubs. Email Elizabeth Kocevar-Weidinger at kocevar-weidingerea@vmi.edu for access.
  • Social Explorer
    Provides demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data, and more. Users can visually explore change over time and understand the patterns behind the raw numbers.
  • Statista
    Coverage: varies by topic and geographical area
    More than 1 million statistics on more than 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources on market and consumer data.
View More Results