Ask Us or Meet With Us

Your Task

Non-Profit Grant Proposal

To argue for the value of your non-profit programs, you should triangulate your proposal research with news, human interest stories, statistics and expert perspectives.

Some examples of non-profit causes:
- homelessness and housing/work programs in New York City
- promoting leadership through boys' and girls' clubs in Chicago
- improving the achievement gap for VA middle schoolers
- supporting adolescent motivation and dropout rates
- underinvestment in cancer research
- Christian camps as a stopgap for adolescent depression
- human trafficking trends in VA
- need for intercultural exchange in high school.
When is it due?
- November 16, 2023. TAPS
How Long?
- 6 body pages or 1500 words min, not including cover letter.
How many and what kind of outside resources/evidence?
- 5 sources as evidence for your cause/ need (MLA Format)
- 2 must be NEW since turning in problem research).

Best Bet Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1887 - present
Scholarly, magazine and newspaper articles for most subject areas from over 19,000+ publications. Also includes book chapters, Associated Press videos, encyclopedias, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Academic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1972 - present
News articles from 8,200+ U.S. and international sources. Each newspaper or wire service provides coverage of local and regional news.
Films On Demand Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Varies
Legal sources, including 2600+ law journals, U. S. Code, U. S. Statutes at Large, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U. S. Supreme Court opinions and reports, Congressional Record, classic law texts, foreign policy documents, presidential documents, treaties, Virginia court briefs, English law history, and much more.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies by publication
Articles from 500 + law journals covering current legal issues, studies and trends,
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1926 - present
Indexing from over 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Coverage: 1963-present.Indexes articles, books, chapters of books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and working papers on topics relating to literature, modern languages, folklore, and linguistics.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
Newspaper articles from over 1,200 newspapers, 40 news magazines, and 1.8 million radio and television news transcripts.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies - present
Scholarly articles from 600+ journals from major university presses and almost 2000 current ebooks. Subjects include literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1930 - present
Articles from 600+ scholarly journals. Topics include behavioral characteristics, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods and strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
PsycInfo - APA This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1887 - present
Scholarly articles from 2,300+ journals and book chapters and dissertations. Access international literature in psychology and related disciplines.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1895 - present
Articles from 4000+ scholarly journals and 400+ magazines, 1000+ books, and reports and conference papers. Topics covered include gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1971 - present
Articles from 250+ scholarly journals on violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other relevant areas.

ERH 312: Professional Writing in a Non-Profit

Ask Us or Meet With Us

Your Task

Non-Profit Grant Proposal

Best Bet Databases