CE 321W: Civil and Environmental Engineering

Coverage: varies by topic and geographical area
More than 1 million statistics on more than 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources on market and consumer data.

Coverage: 2000 - present
News articles from 60+ military-related sources including the Air Force Times, Army Times, Marine Corps Times, Navy Times, Armed Forces Journal, and Defense News.

Coverage: 1972 - present
News articles from 8,200+ U.S. and international sources. Each newspaper or wire service provides coverage of local and regional news.

Coverage: 19th and 20th centuries.
Articles from more than 100 African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries including 83 years of Rand Daily Mail (1902 - 1985). The Rand Daily Mail, published daily in Johannesburg, is a critically important title that pioneered popular journalism in South Africa. It is renowned today for being the first newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall.

Coverage: 1827 - 1995
Articles from 350+ African-American historically significant papers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience.

Coverage: 1690-1876
Articles from 730 early American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia.This collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers."

Coverage: Varies
Articles from Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications including 1,000 U.S. and foreign newspapers, 6,500 news magazines and trade journals, 270 newswires - Dow Jones, Reuters, AP, Asia Pulse, transcripts of leading media news broadcasts - BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, NPR, company profiles and reports, and European Union official documents.

Coverage: 1918 - 2015
Full-text articles from 15 major magazines featuring Newsweek. Provides contemporaneous accounts of world events.

Coverage: varies
Newspaper articles from over 1,200 newspapers, 40 news magazines, and 1.8 million radio and television news transcripts.

Coverage: 1980 - present
All issues of the New York Times in full text, from 1980 to the present, including full image forms, including news, illustrations, editorial matter, and advertising.

Coverage: 1851 - 2019
All issues of the New York Times in full text, from 1851 through 2019, including full image forms, including news, illustrations, editorial matter, and advertising.

Coverage: 19th century
Incldues 400 newspapers includng major papers stand and those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. Includes titles for every single one of the 50 modern-day US states. Although Oklahoma, Arizona, New Mexico, Alaska and Hawaii were not yet US states by the end of the nineteenth century, users will find titles that represent these locations.

Coverage: 17th - 18th centuries
Includes more than 700 bound volumes of newspapers relate political, educational and economic situations situations chosen from more than three dozen cities from English provincial, Irish, Scottish and a handful of papers from British colonies, in the Americas and Asia.

Coverage: 1672 - 1737
Includes the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material are presented in this resource.

Coverage: 4 most recent years. Use the advanced search function to go back to 1997.
WSJ accounts are only available to current VMI students, faculty, and staff. Access will end when you leave the university and accounts must be renewed annually. To create an account, click on the link above and create an account with your VMI email address.

Coverage: 1996 - present
VMI faculty, staff, and cadets can create a digital subscription to “The Washington Post” through a campus license provided by Preston Library.
You will need to create an account.
Note: You must use your VMI email address to create your account.
Note: If you currently have an account, go to the Washington Post online > click on your name in the upper right corner > click on my subscriptions > click on current subscription > select to Subscription: Basic Digital, Subscription provided by Virginia Military Institute, Preston Library. You may be asked to verify your account via email.