Primary Sources

Digital Special Collections of the American Museum of Natural History’s Research Library provides access to our rich collections of digitized archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations

Discover archival materials through this portal

Calisphere is a gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 400,000 images, texts, and recordings—and counting.

Oral history collections related to the civil rights movement

Portal to primary documents held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries. More than 10,000 items including digitized letters, newspapers, diaries. and photographs.

Legal analysis and interpretation of the US Constitution.

http://www.pacific.edu/Library/Find/Holt-Atherton-Special-Collections/Digital-Collections.html

Good quality images from manuscripts collections at the British Library

Digitized publications from 1860 to 1930s

The European Library webservice is a portal which offers access to the combined resources (books, magazines, journals, etc., both digital and non-digital) of 48 national libraries of Europe. It offers free searching and delivers digital objects - some free, some priced.

Archives parlementaires and Images de la Revolution francaise

The Gilder Lehrman Collection contains more than 60,000 documents detailing the political and social history of the United States. The collection's holdings include manuscript letters, diaries, maps, photographs, printed books and pamphlets ranging from 1493 through modern times.

Interviews are part of the Henry Hampton Collection housed at the Film & Media Archive at Washington University Libraries. Each video and transcript represents the entire interview conducted by Blackside, Inc., including portions that did not appear in the final program. For more information, please contact the Film & Media Archive.

The Hagley Digital Archives provides online access to selected items from the Hagley Library's collection of images, documents, and publications related to the history of business, technology, and society.

Archival collection focusing on labor history.

Maps in the NY Public Library's collections

Melville's Marginalia Online is a virtual archive of books owned and borrowed by American author Herman Melville (1819-1891). Select "Policies" for our editorial guidelines, and "Browse Volumes" to view the site's new virtual format.

The Melville Electronic Library will be an online center for Melville studies. As an innovative "critical archive," MEL will provide scholars, critics, instructors, students, and general readers with a reliable "textual core" of all versions of all of Melville's works in manuscript and print. When completed, it will also enable users to search all versions of Melville's texts, compare them, link them to biographical, critical, and cultural materials (such as art works, sources, reviews, criticism, and adaptations) also located in the library's seven "rooms."

Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online archive of biomedical books and videos. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich, historical resources.

Primary sources include digitized logbooks and journals from whaling expeditions.

Primary source materials from from Yale’s Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

Texas's digital collections, including museums, archives, public libraries and other institutions.