Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Reference Databases
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together over 100 fully searchable reference works. Frequently updated, all disciplines will find this resource useful.
Find images to support your research by using the database created by Encyclopedia Britannica:
3 million copyright-free images from Dorling Kindersley Images, Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, Oxford Scientific, and other leading names.
VMI Library Catalog
Find books about electrical engineering by using Preston Library's library catalog.
Tips for searching are:
- Subject Heading
- Limit by format, author, date, and more
You can also browse the shelves for electrial engineering books on the 400 level. Library materials are shelved according to the alphanumeric Library of Congress Classification (LCC) System. The relevant LCC Call Number for electrical engineering begins with TK. Here are a few areas of interest:
TK 301 - 399 Electric meters
TK 1001 - 1841 Production of electric energy or power. Powerplants. Central stations
TK 3001 - 3521 Distribution or transmission of electric power
TK 4125 - 4399 Electric lighting
TK 7800 - 8360 Electronics
TK 9001 - 9401 Nuclear engineering. Atomic power
ECE Reference Books
A Dictionary of Electronics and Electrical Engineering by Topics covered include circuits, power, systems, magnetic devices, control theory, communications, signal processing, and telecommunications, together with coverage of applications areas such as image processing, storage, and electronic materials. It is the most up-to-date quick reference dictionary available in its field, and is a practical and wide-ranging resource for all students of electronics and of electrical engineering.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Electrical Engineering: Know It All Covers the essential areas of electrical engineering, offering tips, tools of the trade, design and applications information along with summarized theory, equations and formulas. Electrical engineering is a field of engineering that generally deals with the study and application of electricity, electronics and electromagnetism.
Call Number: eBook
Electronics Handbook by Offers a comprehensive reference to the concepts, models, and equations necessary to analyze, design, and predict the behavior of complex electrical devices, circuits, instruments, and systems. This book covers the engineering aspects and includes sections on reliability, safety, and engineering management.
Call Number: Ref. TK 7867.E4244 2005
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - Book
If you need a book that Preston Library does not own, request it by completing an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form. Use your VMI username and password to open a book request form. Here is the URL: https://illiad.vmi.edu/
There is no fee; there is not limit to how many ILL requests you can make.
You will be notified by email when the book arrives. It will be held at the Circulation Desk.
ILL Contact Information
ILL Office Hours:
Logon: Interlibrary Loan