Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Applied Mathematics

This guide is designed as a starting point for research in applied mathematics using Preston Library's resources.

What is peer review?

Peer review is defined as the process by which articles submitted for publication in a scholarly journal are reviewed by experts in the subject field (peers) for evaluation and comment (review).  Another term for peer reviewed is "refereed."  Scholarly journals contain original reports of research in specific disciplines written for other scholars and experts in that field.  There should be an abstract or summary in the beginning of the article usually written by the author.

Library Catalog

Find scholarly articles by searching the library's catalog.  Use the search box below:

Additional Databases

Journals

Examples of both scholarly and peer-reviewed journals are below:

Quarterly of Applied Mathematics Contains original papers in applied mathematics which have a close connection with applications in industrial or practical science.

SIAM Journal of Applied Mathematics is an interdisciplinary journal containing research articles that treat scientific problems using methods that are of mathematical interest. Appropriate subject areas include the physical, engineering, financial, and life sciences. Examples are problems in fluid mechanics, materials science, mathematical biology, linear and nonlinear wave propagation, inverse problems, nonlinear dynamics, and stochastic processes, including queuing theory. Mathematical techniques of interest include dynamical systems theory, complex network theory, computational methods, and probabilistic and statistical methods.  Full-text access to this journal is available @ JSTOR.

Mathematics Magazine is published by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) that focuses on mathematics accessible on the undergraduate level. It introduces advanced mathematical concepts and proofs to students in interesting ways. It uses the history of mathematics, applied mathematics and visuals to explain difficult concepts.  There is a section for solving problems.  You will find the current issues in the periodical reading room on the 500 level of Preston Library.  Full-text access to this magazine is available @  JSTOR.

Full-text Articles

Access to full-text articles will be indicated by html and PDF icons within each bibliographic citation when you use the library databases.

When you see by the bibliographic citation, click on it.  Next you will either see the link to the full-text article, or you will see the message below:

Click on "Request this item through interlibrary loan."  Use your VMI username and password.

If you have problems accessing full-text articles or requesting an interlibrary loan, see a Research and Instruction Librarian.