Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

VMI Archives Resources

Letters, Diaries, and Manuscripts

Letters, Diaries, and Manuscripts

Search collections of letters, diaries, and other personal papers located in the VMI Archives. The collections cover VMI history and cadet life, papers of alumni and faculty, the Civil War, military history, and local/regional history.

Search Letters, Diaries, and Manuscripts

Notable Alumni and Faculty collections include:

Moses J. Ezekiel Drawings - A series of sketches created by Ezekiel, a noted 19th century American Jewish sculptor around 1910. The drawings include Ezekiel's completed and proposed sculpture projects, friends and associates of Ezekiel, and notable figures of the time.

Thomas J. "Stonewall" Jackson Papers - Letters written by Jackson spanning his West Point cadetship, U.S. Army career, professorship at VMI, and the Civil War years. The bulk of the items date from prior to the outbreak of the Civil War.

Matthew Fontaine Maury Papers - Full text transcriptions of Maury's papers dated 1840-1873.The papers mostly consist of personal letters to members of his immediate family.

 

Need assistance locating collections that relate to your research topic? Have questions about the Archives? Feel free to e-mail me or schedule an appointment using the buttons under my profile picture to the left.