Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Preston Library News

Preston Library's New Databases

by Maj. Ashley Carroll on 2021-02-18T11:00:14-05:00 | Comments
We invite you to check out Preston Library’s new database offerings. Funding comes from a combination of Virginia's academic library consortium (VIVA) and Preston Library.
Coverage: Varies
Streaming video documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more from Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
 
800+ streaming documentary films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Film Movement, MediaStorm, First Run Features, and more. These documentary films cover a variety of subjects, including education, healthcare, science and technology, and more.
 
Comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. congressional documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. Topic specific databases include all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, history, international relations, criminal justice, political science, religion, and women’s studies among others.  Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
 
 Coverage: 1918 - 2015
Full-text articles from 15 major magazines featuring Newsweek. Provides contemporaneous accounts of world events.
 
65,000 records for actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. Includes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Researches may limit searches to test type, age group, population group, validity/reliability, instrument type, fees, etc. Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files. Select measurements available in more than 40 languages.
 
130+ hours of streaming video addressing a wide range of academic and practitioner issues through tutorials, interviews, and demonstrations.
 
 120+ hours of streaming video covering all branches of the criminal justice system including tutorial videos that take viewers step-by-step through the criminal investigation process; case studies that show how that research affects policy and practices; and films that take viewers inside forensics labs, correctional facilities, and court rooms.
 
75+ hours of streaming video including demonstration, tutorial, and in-practice videos as well as interviews with leaders and practitioners in the field.

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...