Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Preston Library News

New Databases Reflect Diversity

by LTC Elizabeth Kocevar-Weidinger on 2021-08-26T09:53:19-04:00 | Comments

The VMI community now has access to the following primary source databases that reflect our users' needs to research the diverse nature of communities, worldwide. To access all of our databases, please go to Preston Library's website at: https://www.vmi.edu/academics/library/ and select Research Guides. From there, you can choose to show databases by VMI academic subject areas or select Databases A-Z (if you know the name of the database you want to use). 

 

African Americans and Jim Crow Database 
Coverage: 1883 -1922
1,000+ fully searchable printed works critical for insight into African-American culture and life from the beginning of Jim Crow to World War I and beyond.

African Americans and Reconstruction Database
Coverage: 1865-1883
1,400 fully searchable printed works essential for understanding the African-American struggle for identity from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow.

FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Plus More  - Primary Source Materials  
Coverage: 1941-2004.
Monitored, translated, and republished selected foreign radio and television broadcasts, newspaper articles, government news agency releases, and political speeches. Also includes the following Global Perspectives primary source collections: Pravda Archive, 1959-1996; Apartheid, 1946-1996; Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction; American Race Relations, 1941-1996; World Protest and Reform Movements; The Cold War: East-West Tensions, 1945-1991; Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees, 1941-1996; American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam; Propaganda and the Chinese Press.

HistoryMakers 
Coverage: 1993 - present
2,700+ Video oral history interviews of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements.

Indigenous Peoples Database
On-Post Access Only
Coverage: Varies
Content sourced from both American and Canadian institutions and has received direct-from-source permission to digitize newspapers from various tribes and organizations. This archive also features indigenous language materials, including dictionaries, religious texts, and primers.


Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Resources Research Guide
A growing VMI digital research gateway that includes scholarly journals and databases, educational resources, films, documentaries, Ted Talks, and podcasts.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Subjects



Library/Research

  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...