The following Virginia Military Institute (VMI) alumni and faculty served as general officers during the Civil War:

• Raleigh E. Colston, VMI Class of 1846
  • Related collection in the Archives: Raleigh E. Colston papers
• John Echols, VMI Class of 1843
• Birkett D. Fry, VMI Class of 1843
• Samuel Garland, Jr., VMI Class of 1849
  • Related collection in the Archives: Samuel Garland Civil War commission document
• William Y. C. Humes, VMI Class of 1851
• Stonewall Jackson, VMI Faculty
• Alexander C. Jones, VMI Class of 1850
• John R. Jones, VMI Class of 1848
• James H. Lane, VMI Class of 1854
  • Related collection in the Archives: An extensive collection of Lane's personal papers are located at the Auburn University Archives. The Lane family collection has information about his cadetship, photos, and other biographical information, as well as two family documents.
• William Mahone, VMI Class of 1847
  • Related collection in the Archives: Mahone's Brigade Commissary and Civil War documents
• John McCausland, VMI Class of 1857
  • Related collection in the Archives: Cadet drawings, class assignments, and exercises
• Thomas T. Munford, Class of 1852
  • Related collection in the Archives: Thomas T. Munford papers
• William H. F. Payne, VMI Class of 1849
• Robert E. Rodes, VMI Class of 1848
• James E. Slaughter, VMI Class of 1848
• James B. Terrill, VMI Class of 1858
  • Related collection in the Archives: James B. Terrill Civil War letter
• William R. Terry, VMI Class of 1850
• Alfred J. Vaughan, Jr., VMI Class of 1851
• James A. Walker, VMI Class of 1852
  • Related collection in the Archives: Court Martial and Board of Inquiry Records, 19th century, 1848-1854; 1881-1898
• Reuben L. Walker, VMI Class of 1845
• Gabriel C. Wharton, VMI Class of 1847

See the list of alumni general and flag rank officers for a compressive list for all eras.