The Virginia Military Institute (VMI) Archives holds a biographical file for every alumnus who attended VMI during the Korean (1950-1953), Vietnam (1961-1975), and Gulf War (1991) eras and these files frequently contain information about military service. If you would like to view these files, please contact us to schedule an in-person visit.

Primary Resources

The Virginia Military Institute (VMI) Archives has a variety of Korean, Vietnam, and Gulf War primary resources. To browse these resources:

1. Visit the Archives Catalog.
2. Enter your search term(s) into the search box under the Search The Archives heading.

The Archives also has a military oral history collection that features interviews with alumni who served in these conflicts.

The following are some primary resources related to VMI alumni in the Korean, Vietnam, and Gulf Wars:

• Korean War
  • Edward M. Almond collection
  • Albert D. Davis papers 
  • Richard L. Irby collection
• Vietnam War
  • C. Barrett Graham papers
  • Gates T. Richards collection
  • VMI alumni in the Vietnam War service survey documents
• Gulf War
  • John M. Lillard collection
  • Soldiers' memorabilia and military service related manuscripts

Secondary Resources

The following are some secondary resources related to VMI alumni in the Korean, Vietnam, and Gulf Wars:

• VMI alumni deaths in the Korean War
• VMI alumni deaths in the Vietnam War
• “Two Graduates Killed in the Gulf War” article in the VMI Alumni Review, Spring 1991
• VMI Medal of Honor Recipients page
• General and Flag Rank Officers

Class of 1969 Memorial Room

The Class of 1969 Memorial Room on the 5th Floor of Preston Library memorializes the four members of this class who were killed in the Vietnam War. Their portraits (shown below) are hung throughout this room.