Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is an engineering standard?
An engineering standard is a document that has been developed and established within the consensus principles of the organization and which meets the requirements of procedures and regulations. Full consensus standards are developed with the participation of all parties who have a stake in the standards’ development and/or use.
ASCE standards promote safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency.
Building Codes and Handbooks
Significant Changes to the International Building Code 2018 Edition by This convenient, easy-to-use resource provides a comprehensive analysis of notable changes since the 2015 International Building Code®, including the origins, implications, and real-world applications of those changes. Covering updates to both structural and non-structural provisions of the IBC®, the text presents an analysis of affected code sections, highlighting modifications to the existing language with strikethroughs and underlines. Each update also features a brief explanation, detailed illustrations, and thoughtful discussion of the changes' significance, so you can interpret the code's technical jargon and understand its practical applications to real-world scenarios. With its attention to detail, logical organization, and thorough, yet concise coverage, SIGNIFICANT CHANGES TO THE INTERNATIONAL BUILDING CODE®, 2018 Edition, is an ideal resource to help you transition from the 2015 IBC.
Call Number: KF 5701.T485 2018
Publication Date: 2017
2018 International Building Code Illustrated Handbook A comprehensive visual companion to the International Building Code 2018 edition. Thoroughly updated to address the provisions of the ICC's 2018 International Building Code®, this fully-illustrated guide makes it easy to understand and apply the most critical code provisions. Covering both fire- and life-safety and structural provisions, this practical resource contains hundreds of user-friendly diagrams designed to clarify the application and intent of the IBC. The 2018 International Building Code® Illustrated Handbook provides all the information needed to get construction jobs done right and achieve compliance. An invaluable companion to the 2018 IBC, it is a must have resource for building officials, architects, engineers, contractors and all building construction professionals.
Call Number: Ref. TH 420.T46 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Find standards @ Preston Library
Engineering standards can be found by searching the library's online catalog. Here is the URL for advanced search: http://vmi.worldcat.org/advancedsearch
- Organization as author, i.e. ASTM or American Society for Testing and Materials
- Subject headings
- Limit by types of sources
- Limit by date
You can also search the ASCE official web site under the category of "Books & Standards" to find an engineering standard. Once you have the title, standard number and date of publication, you can search the library's catalog. If Preston Library does not own the standard, then you can request an Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Coverage: 1931 - present
Access to all of ASTM's 12,500+ standards, 1,500+ books, scholarly articles from their 9 journal publications, and more than 47,000+ papers, chapters and articles, as well as online training courses and videos. The standards cover active, redline, and historical standards.
Civil Engineering Database
You can use the CEDB to find bibliographic citations for standards. Limit your search from "All document types" to "Books--Standards." To find the standard @ Preston Library search the library catalog with the title of the standard. If the library owns the standard, there will be a call number. If the library does not own the item, then request it by selecting Interlibrary Loan.
Standards @ Preston Library